Vinaora Nivo Slider 3.xVinaora Nivo Slider 3.x
Vinaora Nivo Slider 3.x

Philipsburg Methodist Chapel 170th Anniversary.

The Philipsburg Methodist Chapel Christian witness was established and dedicated on October 19th 1851. Various activities commemorating the 170th Anniversary are being held with the theme “Trust God in difficult times: transforming obstacles into opportunities.”

Some of these activities: Virtual Morning Devotions by Past and Present Minister, Virtual Prayers by current officers, Community Outreach Free Soup Day & Flea Market, Youth Explosion, Anniversary Service of Thanksgiving where Bishop the Rev. Charles A. Seaton preached and A lecture entitled: “Philipsburg Chapel, Then and Now,” presenters were Rev. E. Lloyd Brissett and Bro. Dennis Baptiste.

An historical Collage Exhibition is being hosted at the Louisann Augusta Illidge Hall -The Brick building, Back Street # 91. The Exhibition gives an overview of the history of the church, its members, groups and organizations, and more. The public can visit the Exhibition on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, 1:00 pm to 7.00 pm, and on Sundays after worship for a short period. Anniversary Memorabilia are on sale at the Exhibition.

Reports and reviews have indicated that the celebrations have highlighted the significant historical milestone of this national monument and landmark strategically located in the heart of the business district of Philipsburg.

 We, the inheritors of this glorious legacy, give God thanks for the pioneers whose role was instrumental with the establishment, dedication, and maintenance of the Chapel. Mention must be made of:

• The wealthy and prominent Mrs. Louisann Augusta Illidge who was commonly referred to as the “Mother of Methodism” on St. Maarten and whose residence became the favorite resort of Methodists as well as dignitaries of the day; her residence known then as the Brick Mansion is now known as the Louisann Augusta Illdge Hall, the Brickbuilding.
• Gezaghebber J.D. Crol who approved and forwarded the petition in 1840 to His Majesty, to grant a plot of land in Philipsburg known as “The Old English Church Lot’, to the Methodist church.
• Rev. James Cox, Superintendent of the St. Kitts Circuit who conducted the dedication and opening services.
• Reverend Franklyn Roberts (1955 – 1958) who during his ministry, the renovation was done to the Chapel; the late Mr. Bernard Scott and the late Mr. Irad Doncher who did the renovation building scheme.
• The late Rev. Dr. Birchfield Aymer supervised the replacement of the original two-story wooden church building with the present concrete Chapel, while maintaining its original shape and design.
• The Federal Government of the then Netherlands Antilles declared the building a national monument.
• Rev. Neville Brodie who at the time, was Chairman and General Superintendent of the Leeward Islands District of the Methodist Church in the Caribbean and the Americas (MCCA), laid the cornerstone for the renovated building.
The Philipsburg Methodist Chapel is a famous tourist attraction partly due to its strategic location. Over the year, many memorial services took place in this Chapel and it has also been the worship place of the Royal Family of the Netherlands for generations, whenever visiting Sint Maarten.
Whether you are a visitor, a local resident, or a person who may not have a place of worship, a hearty and warm welcome awaits you with an evangelical, inspirational worship experience, 9.00 am each Sunday.

Vinaora Nivo Slider 3.xVinaora Nivo Slider 3.x

RADIO FROM VOICEOFTHECARIBBEAN.NET

Vinaora Nivo Slider 3.xVinaora Nivo Slider 3.x
Vinaora Nivo Slider 3.x
Vinaora Nivo Slider 3.x
Vinaora Nivo Slider 3.x